The U.S. Government

The U.S. government is made up of three separate branches. They are the executive branch, the legislative branch and the judicial branch. The executive branch includes the President, the Vice President, and all of the departments, such as the Department of Agriculture and the Department of State. Each department head has the title of Secretary, such as the Secretary of Defense. All of the secretaries together form the Cabinet, whose job is to advise the President. It is the job of the executive branch to make sure that laws are obeyed. The legislative branch is made up of Congress and other government agencies that provide support to Congress. The U.S. Congress is what we call bicameral, meaning that it has two parts: the House of Representatives and the Senate. It is the legislative branch's job to create laws. Finally, the judicial branch of government refers to the court system and is headed by the Supreme Court.

Each branch of government has its own responsibilities to ensure a country is run smoothly. The founding fathers wanted to create a government where no one person or group of people would have too much power. So they also gave each branch of government the job of making sure that there is a constant balance of power between it and the other two branches. This is called the system of checks and balances. For example, although Congress has the power to make laws, the President has the power to veto a law before it is put into effect. On the contrary, congress has the power to impeach the President if they feel he is not upholding his responsibilities. In this way, each branch of government has the power to keep the other two branches in check.

297 words